Home > Nutrition, Weight Loss > Out of Whack to Back on Track

Out of Whack to Back on Track

‘Twas the night before my nutrition consultation, and the only thing stirring was my double-stuffed Oreo® in my milk (fat-free milk, thank you very much). Not the best way to prepare for a conversation about my pitiful diet and lack of exercise, especially for someone who promotes healthy living daily.

As the Vice President of Marketing & Communications for all things Cooper, it’s my job to learn and talk about healthy habits and how they change lives. They do. I’ve seen it in others, and I’ve experienced it first-hand. When I started at Cooper Aerobics five years ago May 7, I was at my heaviest weight of 170 lbs. and completely sedentary. It wasn’t long before I got inspired to Get Cooperized.

My journey to better health had its twists and turns, bumps and hurdles, but in 2011 I achieved my best numbers in a decade: 143 pounds and normal body fat; traditionally high cholesterol and triglycerides back in a healthy zone; and I was exercising regularly logging about 150 minutes a week. All of that translated into feeling fantastic, not getting winded going up stairs, almost no knee pain (I’ve has arthroscopic surgery on both knees years ago) and liking how I looked in my new pencil skirts.

Birthday card from my team!

Now one year later and recently celebrating my birthday (as my Grandmother says, “age is a number and mine’s unlisted!”), I can’t fit into a single pencil skirt or most of my clothes for that matter. I’m winded more often than I’d like to admit. My knees ache going up stairs, and I’m not feeling great overall. Oh, and did I mention that I’m up 15 lbs?

So it’s time to call in the Cooper troops. Meridan Zerner is the colorful and energetic Cooper Clinic registered dietitian that will coach me on nutrition. She’s the only person that can hand out mandarin orange cups from her trunk and seem perfectly normal. April Swales is my sassy Cooper Fitness Center professional fitness trainer whose sense of humor helps me forget the pain of pushing a weighted metal plow across the gym floor, at least temporarily.

I’ll be logging and blogging along the way, so join me on my journey from out of whack to back on track! At least now I’ve cleared the pantry of cookies and am stirring a straw in a tall glass of iced decaf green tea.

Full disclosure: One of the great perks for working at Cooper Aerobics is we receive discounts on nutrition consultations and personal training. I’m paying for my sessions with Meridan and April at our teammate discounted rate.

This was written by Amy George former VP of Marketing and Communications at Cooper Aerobics. Amy is no longer with Cooper Aerobics and we wish her all the best with her future endeavors.

  1. Becca
    May 16, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    Hi Amy – Thank you so much for sharing. I look forward to following your blog posts throughout your journey! Question – how does one actually start to “Get Cooperized?” Once someone makes the decision to get back on track and lead a healthier life, what is the first step? Again, thank you for sharing with us! I look forward to your next post.

    • May 16, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      Hi Becca, thanks for your feedback. Starting the Cooperized journey really depends on the person. Check out the Get Cooperized 8 Healthy Steps on our website. For me, the Step 1 “maintain a healthy weight” is my inspiration. To do that it takes a combination of Steps 2, 3 and 7 respectively: “eat healthy most of the time,” “exercise most days of the week” and “manage stress.” When I was focused on those steps I felt better and knew those actions would help me live a more active and longer life in the future. But I stopped and let stress and other issues get me off track. Of the 8 steps, half I need to work on, but the other half I’ve got covered: I take the right supplements for me, I don’t smoke, I control my alcohol and I get all of my preventive exams. Check out the Get Cooperized 8 Healthy Steps and see which ones you’ve achieved or are maintaining and which ones you may need to work on. Thanks for your support!

  2. sonicjones
    May 16, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Very cool, Amy! Loved the post. And, I look forward to following your additional posts, as well. Happy Birthday! And, best to you as you move forward on your journey from out of whack to back on track!

  3. Richard Buse
    May 18, 2012 at 12:28 am

    Thanks for sharing this, Amy. I’m working on getting back on track myself, so whatever insights you wish to share in this blog will be most appreciated and welcomed.

  4. Cynthia
    May 23, 2012 at 1:57 am

    Help me! I currently get personal training at Cooper in McKinney. What is the teammate discounted rate? Will a nutritionist help me find foods that will fill he up and help me lose. I guess your discount rates apply to employees only. Thanks for thoughts.

  5. May 23, 2012 at 4:05 pm

    You are in for a treat! Cindy Kleckner is an awesome Cooper Clinic registered dietitian based at Cooper Fitness Center at Craig Ranch in McKinney. She offers culinary demos each month. See the Events page on our website: http://www.cooperaerobics.com/Events.aspx. Those typically cost $10 for members and $40 for the public. She also provides individual consultations and can help you find food that will fill you up and lose weight at the same time. It will be worth every penny; I promise!

    Cooper calls employees that work here “teammates” since we are all on the same team working to “Cooperize” the world. Sometimes Cooper does offer special rates to the public on a variety of services. So check out the Promotions page on our website: http://www.cooperaerobics.com/About/Our-Brands/Promotions.aspx for the latest deals.

    Thanks for following, and let me know if I can help with anything else!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

