Home > Fitness > Game. Set. Match.

Game. Set. Match.

The clay has been prepared. The lines have been freshly drawn. Today marks the first day of the 2012 French Open (or Roland Garros, for anyone following along in Paris), the second of the four annual Grand Slam tennis tournaments. Two full weeks of riveting matches – what more could you ask for?

Tennis is one of my favorite hobbies. I guess I could say it’s one of my favorite “workouts,” but when I play I typically forget I’m even working out! For me tennis is a way to have fun and socialize with friends. In honor of National Tennis month, I went ahead and asked our experts at Cooper Fitness Center in Dallas to share a few health benefits of playing tennis:

  • Tennis provides good caloric burn, especially if you’re playing singles.
  • Since you’re moving around the court in different directions, tennis is a great activity to work on speed, agility and power.
  • It’s also great at helping with eye hand coordination.

We’re fortunate to have four tennis courts here at our Cooper Aerobics campus in Dallas. But if you’re looking for a nearby court where you live, the United States Tennis Association (USTA) can help you find a court.

So don’t just enjoy watching the French Open on TV, head outside and serve up a game.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

