Home > Skin Health > 40 and (soon-to-be) Fabulous

40 and (soon-to-be) Fabulous

Face_Products

Some of my new SkinCeutical facial products!

Birthday milestones. Don’t we just love them? I recently celebrated “the first anniversary of turning 39.” But I want to be “40 and fabulous” both on the inside and outside. Before I dive into medical tests that come with poking and prodding, I thought I’d start with a facial. I mean, baby steps people. I expected to receive affirmation of what everyone already tells me – you look so young! Let’s just say a dose of reality was mixed in my hydrating masque.

I chose Fatima, one of Cooper Spa’s expert estheticians in Dallas. She is about to marry off one of her sons, yet her beautiful, taught skin would tell you differently. I’m lying on the comfortable table, warm steam blowing on my face. She asks about my facial history and current regimen and it goes something like this… I’m terrible. I use those cheap facial wiping cloths, some old Proactive products even though I don’t have acne, never moisturize and rarely use sunscreen even though I have melasma on my upper lip. She doesn’t say a word. It’s a good thing I have pads on my eyes at this point to not see the horror on her face.

Then I proceed to tell her that I’ve only had one other facial in my life. About 15 years ago, I left looking like I had been attacked by a wood pecker while suffering from chicken pox. You can understand why I never went back. She wisely concludes that I bruise easily during extractions.

With that insight, she begins to ever so gently wash my face, removing the top layer of dirt with pads then doing a deeper clean with a Clarisonic® brush and topping it off with toner. Using a magnifying glass that could see a small blemish on the moon, she says surprisingly, “Your pores aren’t that bad.” Then she says much more emphatically, “Your face is completely de-hydrated!”

I’m confused. I have oily skin. How could it be dehydrated? That’s because one thing has nothing to do with the other. I also learn that smoking, sun and lack of hydration are the major contributors to aging.

Fatima does a few extractions (without leaving a single mark!), then hypnotizes me with the most amazing facial massage, puts on a hydrating masque, and while that works it’s magic, she massages both of my arms, hands and feet. She removes the masque and finishes with moisturizer. Voila… my skin looks and feels amazing!

Her recommended daily treatment for me is the SkinCeuticals® line: Simple Clean cleanser for combination or oily skin, 4-5 drops of Phloretin CF for antioxidants and to boost collagen, and to mix sunscreen with the Daily Moisture cream. At night, simply wash and apply the Night Moisture cream. She says to keep the Micro-exfoliating Scrub in the shower and use it once or twice a week max.

My journey to “40 and fabulous” is starting out pretty well… considering a colonoscopy is in my future. Stay tuned for more health and beauty checks along the way!

This was written by Amy George former VP of Marketing and Communications at Cooper Aerobics. Amy is no longer with Cooper Aerobics and we wish her all the best with her future endeavors.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

