Home > Fitness > Box With The Foxx at Cooper Fitness Center

Box With The Foxx at Cooper Fitness Center

As a new member of the Marketing and Communications team at Cooper Aerobics, I wanted to study our audience in their element.

Cooper Fitness Center is conveniently located right across the parking lot from our office. For the first few weeks, I was just visiting to check out the renovation site and finally I got around to picking up my membership to Get Cooperized™. I know it is good for many reasons to change up your workout regime and Cooper Fitness Center has no shortage of opportunities with more than 70 group exercise classes a week! On top of the regular classes, they also have Sports Pros.

Derric James, also known as “The Foxx,” is the Boxing Pro at Cooper Fitness Center and recently trained a 2012 Olympic games welterweight boxer to the quarterfinals! He periodically offers 30-minute boxing clinics to members. When I caught wind of the opportunity, I signed up! While attending Texas Tech University (Guns Up!) I went a kick boxing class at the recreation center, but I’d never actually punched a punching bag – until I met The Foxx! My traditional kick boxing class was a great total body workout, but I wasn’t prepared to be trained by a professional boxer.

As soon as my hands were wrapped and pink gloves were on, I was ready to go!

First we assessed my form. Feet shoulder width apart, and body turned to your dominant side (right for me) with toes and heels in line.

It’s all about the technique. When going for the punch, turn your shoulders and torso (use your oblique muscles) facing towards your opponent, coach or punching bag.

If you want to keep up with your opponent, you must add cardiovascular training. After every few rounds, we headed to the track to take some laps or hit the stationary bike for intervals.

When it’s down to the count, core strength is key. After I had taken my last punch, we slowed our heart rates down with a walk around the track and headed to the gym floor. Here, The Foxx led us through the last component of training.

In only 30 minutes I had trained as a real boxer and received a total body workout, and was sore for days! After the clinic I was curious, why do they call him The Foxx? I found that when Derric was fighting professionally, his style was very calculated and smart. He was sly like a fox, hence the name. Rumor has it, that it is spelled with double X’s because his opponents knew they were in double trouble!

To learn more about becoming a member at Cooper Fitness Center in Dallas, visit our website.

  1. June 1, 2013 at 12:39 am

    Thank you for your wonderful article the most important thing in the exercise, the heart and blood circulation are parallel and flexibility in the movements….
    Thanks again

  2. June 8, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Useful information. Lucky me I found your website by chance, and
    I’m shocked why this coincidence did not happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  3. August 8, 2013 at 5:23 am

    This is a really good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.

    Brief but very precise info… Appreciate your sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

