Home > Skin Health > Vita-Gel Manicure vs. The Other Gels

Vita-Gel Manicure vs. The Other Gels

Since gel manicures have been popular I have been an avid fan! I love the polished look of acrylic nails, but have never wanted to sacrifice the health of my nails. My nails are already thin, so gel manicures have been my saving grace. There are many different types of gel manicures which I learned are commonly mistaken for Shellac. Shellac is a brand of a gel manicure, among other popular brands I have tried like: OPI™ gelshine and Gelish. When I heard that Cooper Spa was introducing a new gel manicure that was not harmful to your hands or damaging to nails, it only made sense and I knew I had to try it!

Cooper Spa is one of the first in Dallas to offer this gel manicure system, Orly FX Gel Manicure. The manicure is incredibly durable and is guaranteed to remain chip-free for at least one week. Plus, it’s power-packed with an infusion of Vitamins A, E and Pro-Vitamin B5 to nourish nails. So what is the difference between Vita-Gel and the other popular gel brands? It utilizes LED light technology (rather than UV) and provides full protection and incredible shine in just 30 seconds.

I made my appointment with Marcia. The Vita-Gel Manicure process is simple, starting with nail shaping and cuticle treatment.  Marcia then treated my hands with Vanilla Tangerine Hand & Body Lotion, from the Beautiful Fit™ product line. It smells divine! For all signature services at Cooper Spa, we use Beautiful Fit™ products—Cooper Spa’s own private label which are free of parabens, mineral oils and artificial fragrance. All of the products are biodegradable, made from natural and renewable raw materials.

Once the polish was applied, Marcia put my hands under a LED dryer for 30 seconds to harden the polish and give it a beautiful shine. She repeated  the same process after a second coat. The polish dried in seconds leaving me with a long-lasting manicure. While I was getting my manicure she gave me great tips that I haven’t heard at any other salon. She recommended applying oil to my cuticles every night. Applying lotion to your hands and cuticles will prevent your cuticles from cracking, but the oil adds extra protection. Any type of oil you might have at home can work, or Cooper Spa has specific cuticle oils available for purchase in the boutique.

Typically I don’t stray from my comfort zone for nail color. I stick with my two favorites: OPI Cajun Shrimp (which is a fun orangey-red) or OPI Bubble Bath (which is nude). Marcia suggested a color that I would have never picked on my own—Mirror Mirror. It is a light grey, which she said is a great color for fall. I have gotten so many compliments and will definitely take her recommendations for a fun color on my next manicure! Cooper Spa offers 24 colors for the Vita-Gel Manicure.

After my manicure, I was greeted by the friendly staff who offered me a delicious, hot white orange tea. I decided to peruse around in the shop to look for the cuticle oil. Not only can you purchase Beautiful Fit products in the Cooper Spa boutique, but they also sell a few of my other favorites like SkinCeuticals®, Moroccanoil® and OPI polish. While looking around I also found Jack Black® products conveniently enough for brother’s upcoming birthday!

Experience the results for yourself. Book your appointment today at cooperspa.com/Dallas or call 972.392.7729. Click here to view our current Spa specials.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

