Home > Cooper Updates, Fitness > CFC Trainer of the Year – Jamie Cochran, ATC

CFC Trainer of the Year – Jamie Cochran, ATC

Jamie-Cochran

Each year, Cooper Fitness Center (CFC) Professional Fitness Trainers nominate one of their teammates who consistently goes above and beyond in their work for the Trainer of the Year Award. This year’s recipient is Jamie Cochran, who has been with CFC since 2012. We sat down with Jamie to find out more about why she loves being a trainer at CFC.

Q: How long have you been a professional fitness trainer, and how long have you been a trainer at Cooper?

A: I’ve worked in the health care/fitness field since 1999. I started out as a Certified Athletic Trainer (ATC), working exclusively in sports medicine, specifically high school and collegiate athletics. I earned my personal training certification through the National Academy of Sports Medicine in 2008, and transitioned into personal training in 2010. I found that as my children got older, keeping up a travel schedule with athletic teams was getting harder and harder. As an ATC, I had been writing rehab programs all along, so I decided to move more toward the fitness realm and focus on special populations, which refers to people outside the realm of traditional personal training. These people typically have some “special” consideration that must be observed while training them, for example: rheumatoid arthritis, joint replacements, pre- or post-surgical conditions, Parkinson’s, injury recovery, etc. I came to Cooper Fitness Center in August 2012.

Q: In your own words, what does it mean to be a Cooper Fitness Center Professional Fitness Trainer?

A: As soon as I decided to take my career in the direction of personal training, I knew that I wanted to eventually end up at Cooper. In the health and wellness world, this organization is the gold standard. I’ve enjoyed every aspect of my career, but working here tops it all. Our facility is outstanding, our staff is second to none and our members are awesome! It’s a joy coming to work every day.

Q: What do you think is the most important part of your job as a trainer?

A: By far, the professionalism and level of service that I provide to all of my clients is the most important to me. I take a much more conservative approach to my program design because my niche is special populations. A lot of careful research and time goes into taking care of my clients, and I want to make sure that my approach is always measured, effective and safe.

Q: What is a “typical” day like for you at Cooper Fitness Center?

A: My typical day starts at 5 a.m., and I usually have eight or nine appointments per day. My mornings are usually very busy, but I try to squeeze in an hour to go outside and run on the track when I can. Some days are more booked than others, but I’m typically here until about 4 p.m. every day.

Q: What do you enjoy most about being a trainer?

A: My favorite thing about being a trainer is that my job is never boring or monotonous. Every day is fun and different! Even when I’m very busy, there are always people to laugh and converse with. I took over the Parkinson’s Program a couple months ago and that has been a tremendous blessing. All of my clients are special to me, but working with this group has been especially rewarding.

Q: Why is Cooper Fitness Center a unique place to be a trainer?

A: There is no place like CFC. We have a beautiful campus, great facilities and wonderful members. Our team of Professional Fitness Trainers are collectively the most qualified you’ll find anywhere (maybe the world!).

Q: What does it mean to you to be named CFC Trainer of the Year?

A: I am very honored by this award because it was voted on by my colleagues, who I have a great deal of respect for. Many of them have been in the business quite a bit longer than I have, so I was humbled that they thought enough of me to give me this award.

Q: What is your favorite physical activity/workout?

A: My favorite physical activity is distance running. It’s the one activity I can do to completely disconnect from the world and clear my mind. It’s very therapeutic for me. I’ve run eight half marathons over the years, along with countless other 5Ks and 10Ks. I try to run at least 20-30 miles per week.

Q: What are your favorite hobbies?

A: I love to read. I rarely have time for leisurely reading, but when I get a chance to steal a few moments for myself, that’s what I love to do…even if it’s only for 10 minutes!

Q: What do you like to do after a long day of work?

A: After a long day of work, I’d love to say that I get to take a long soak in a hot bath, but I’m usually rushing off to one of my children’s many sports or school activities or doing homework with them while I cook dinner!

  1. December 2, 2015 at 6:15 am

    Very amazing post! I can’t just imagine how great this article is. I really enjoyed reading this. Thank you very much author!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Comment

